Rubinoff wins AWC scholarship

Adina Rubinoff '11 recently was awarded the Upstate NY Association for Women in Computer scholarship.  The prize of $1K was awarded at the annual AWC awards breakfast, held 4/29/10 at the Hyatt Regency in Rochester.  Attending the event with Adina was Robin Miller '11, Rachel Niemer (UR Learning Assistance Services), and undergraduate liaison Marty Guenther.

Ipek's paper on Dynamically Replicated Memory wins Best Paper Award at ALPLOS '10

The paper entitled "Dynamically Replicated Memory:  Building Resilient Systems from Unreliable Nanoscale Memories," by E. Ipek, J. Condit, E. Nightingale, D. Burger and T. Moscibroda, tied for the top honors at ASPLOS '10:  International Conference on Architecture Support for Programming Languages and Operating Systems.

Xipeng Shen (Ph.D 2006) wins NSF CAREER Award.

Xipeng Shen (Ph.D.

Xipeng Shen (Ph.D '06) wins Best Paper Award at 15th ACM SIGPLAN PPOPP '10

At the 15th ACM SIGPLAN Annual Symposium on Principles and Practice of Parallel Programming (PPoPP'10), the paper "Does Cache Sharing on Modern CMP Matter to the Performance of Contemporary Multi-threaded Programs?" by College of William and Mary graduate students Eddy Zhang and Yunlian Jiang, and Pro

ACM Programming Team Featured in Democrat and Chronicle article

Recently, Jim Goodman, a reporter from the Democrat & Chronicle, attended a practice session of the URCS ACM programming team while they prepared for the ACM-ICPC World Finals in Harbin, China.  Like local athletes featured before their events at the Olympics, our students were the subject of an uplifting article about teamwork.

UG ACM Programming Team leaves for World Finals on Sunday

If you happen to see Ian Christopher, Dennis Huo or Xiaoqing (Sean) Tang diligently practicing for their upcoming trip to China for the ACM World Finals, wish them well.  They have been simulating the 5 hour competition in each of their practices for weeks and working through problem sets from past competitions.  Such dedication!!

Ciaraldi (MS '90) on WPI Winning Robot Team

Mike Ciaraldi, CS Professor of Practice at Worcester Polytechnic University,  was part of the winning robotics team for the NASA Regolith Excavation Challenge. web.cs.wpi.edu/News/Regolith-prize.html

Chunqiang Tang (Ph.D.'04) Wins Multiple IBM Research Awards

URCS alumnus Chunqiang Tang (Ph.D. 2004), a researcher at IBM's T.J. Watson Research Center, has received multiple prestigious IBM Research awards.

  • Recipient of the IBM Research "Accomplishment Award" in 2009, for contributions to the PARA-medic tool that diagnoses problems with enterprise IT systems. The qualification of this award requires not only technical innovation but also concrete, measurable impacts on IBM's revenue by 10 million USD or more.

Michael Scott named 2010 IEEE Fellow

Michael L. Scott has been elevated to the status of IEEE Fellow for 2010 for his contributions to parallel and distributed computing.

Recently, Pedro A. Ray, IEEE 2010 President wrote, "Recognizing the achievements of its members is an important part of the mission of the IEEE.  Each year, following a rigorous evaluation procedure, the IEEE Fellow Committee recommends a select group of recipients for one of the Instutites' most prestigious honors, elevation to IEEE Fellow."

The honor will be effective January 1, 2010.

NACLO 2010 at University of Rochester

University of Rochester is hosting a site for the 2010 North American Olympiad in Computational Linguistics (NACLO). NACLO is a competition for middle-school and high-school students which involves solving problems about language and computational linguistics. It consists of two rounds: the Open Round (February 4), open to all interested students,  and the Invitational Round (March 10), for students who have advanced from the first round. The winners of the Invitational Competition will be invited to participate in the International Linguistics Olympiad.

Syndicate content