Difference: MigrationO365_FAQ (8 vs. 9)

Revision 92016-04-28 - DaveCostello

Line: 1 to 1
 
META TOPICPARENT name="Office365Email"

O365 Email Migration FAQ

Line: 25 to 25
 
   
What happened to the attachment on an email I received to my O365 Inbox? Does O365 silently discard some types of file attachments?

Yes it does. Here is a link to a list of all the file extension types O365 will drop. https://support.office.com/en-us/article/Blocked-attachments-in-Outlook-3811cddc-17c3-4279-a30c-060ba0207372#__attachment_file_types

You will have better luck sharing a link to these types of files from DropBox or a similar service.

   
Changed:
<
<
I was missing mail. Why was is it in a folder named Clutter? What is Clutter? How do I turn Clutter off? Clutter is an attempt by Microsoft to "learn" what messages in your inbox seem to be low priority. Similar to Gmail "categories", but implemented far worse, it attempts to remove low priority email from your inbox so that more important messages are easier to find in the primary inbox. In practice though if you have a high volume inbox it just makes two inboxes which is the opposite of efficient. Worse most people don't know this exists. Unfortunately this 'feature' is turned on by default. You will almost certainly want to turn it off. To turn it off: Gear->Options->Mail->Automatic Processing->Clutter then UNCHECK "Separate items identified as clutter".
>
>
I was missing mail. Why was is it in a folder named Clutter? What is Clutter? How do I turn Clutter off? Clutter is an attempt by Microsoft to "learn" what messages in your inbox seem to be low priority. Similar to Gmail "categories". It attempts to remove low priority email from your inbox so that more important messages are 'easier' to find in the primary inbox. In practice though if you have a high volume inbox it just makes two inboxes which is the opposite of efficient. Worse most people don't know this exists. Unfortunately this 'feature' is turned on by default. You will almost certainly want to turn it off. To turn it off: Gear->Options->Mail->Automatic Processing->Clutter then UNCHECK "Separate items identified as clutter".
 
   
What is the default retention policy for my message folders? By default all messages are kept until you delete them. If you choose to set your own retention policy to have messages automatically deleted you can create a retention policy in the options and then right-click a folder to assign your policy. By default all folders and messages have a "Never delete" policy so there is no need to set a retention policy unless you want to have O365 automatically purge a folder after a set time period.
   
 
This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platform Powered by PerlCopyright © 2008-2017 by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding URCS? Send feedback