Call for Papers

Fifth Workshop on Languages, Compilers,
and Run-time Systems for Scalable Computers

In cooperation with ACM SIGPLAN

University of Rochester, Rochester, NY, USA, May 25-27, 2000

Important Dates

Submission: 5:00 PM EST, Monday, January 31, 2000.
(extended to 5:00 PM EST, Monday, February 7th, 2000). Send mail to stating your intent to submit a paper if using the extended deadline.
Notification: Monday, March 20, 2000.
Workshop: Thursday-Saturday, May 25-27, 2000.
Camera-ready: Friday, June 30, 2000.


The Workshop on Languages, Compilers, and Run-time Systems for Scalable Computers (LCR) is a bi-annual gathering of computer scientists who develop software systems for parallel and distributed computers, held in the off-year for PPoPP. Attendance is limited to 75 participants. We will attempt to accommodate all authors, but in the event of multi-author papers with many authors, we may have to limit the number of participants per paper. The LCR community is interested in a broad range of technologies, with a common goal of developing systems that enable real applications. The organization of high-end computer systems is undergoing a dramatic shift, fueled by the improving speeds of commodity networks and processors, and is enabling new applications. High-end computer systems now include MPPs, shared memory systems, distributed shared memory, and (possibly heterogeneous) clusters of uniprocessors and multiprocessors. For this fifth meeting, LCR2000, we are especially soliciting papers that describe emerging applications as well as software support for these applications. Among the topics of interest to the workshop are:


Paper format: 6-page (maximum, including figures and bibliography) abstract, with a minimum of a 10 point font. Shorter entries are welcome. Please include an e-mail address, phone number, and fax number for the contact author. Papers can be submitted via e-mail or postal mail; e-mail submissions are preferred.

Electronic submission: This is the preferred mode of submission. Intstructions are available here. The paper will be due no later than 5:00 pm EST on Jan 31st, 2000. Use the electronic submission form to submit your papers. Contact the program chair at if you need any help.

Postal submission: Send three copies of the 6-page abstract to the Program Chair at the following address so that it ARRIVES by Jan 31, 2000:

Sandhya Dwarkadas
Department of Computer Science
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY14627-0226, U.S.A.


Authors will be notified via e-mail no later than March 20, 2000.


An informal proceedings consisting of the 6-page abstracts will be distributed at the conference. The formal proceedings will be published as a volume in the Springer-Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. LNCS volumes are now available both in printed and electronic form. Authors of accepted papers will therefore be required to submit full versions of their papers after the Workshop (15 pages in LNCS format, approx. 9 8.5x11 pages), including an electronic version as specified in the authors' instructions. Each participant will receive a copy of the proceedings.

Program Committee

Henri Bal, Vrije University
Alan L. Cox, Rice University
Sandhya Dwarkadas, Program Chair, University of Rochester
Thomas Gross, Carnegie-Mellon University, ETH Zurich
Mary Hall, ISI, University of Southern California
David O'Hallaron, Carnegie-Mellon University
Vijay Karamcheti, New York University
Carl Kesselman, ISI, University of Southern California
David Padua, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Keshav Pingali, Cornell University
Lori Pollock, University of Delaware
Michael L. Scott, University of Rochester
Jaswinder Pal Singh, Princeton University
Jaspal Subhlok, University of Houston
Vaidy Sunderam, Emory University
Willy Zwaenepoel, Rice University

General/Program Chair

Sandhya Dwarkadas
Department of Computer Science
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY14627-0226, U.S.A.

phone: (716) 275-5647
fax: (716) 275-5647

Organizing Committee

JoMarie Carpenter, University of Rochester

For further information, please contact the Program/General Chair, Sandhya Dwarkadas