Engin Ipek

Associate Professor

Department of Computer Science

Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering

CSB Room 711

University of Rochester

Rochester, NY 14627

Phone: +1 (585) 275-1420

Fax: +1 (585) 275-5671

Email: drenginipek@gmail.com

I am an associate professor of Computer Science and of Electrical & Computer Engineering at the University of Rochester. I received my B.S. (2003), M.S. (2007), and Ph.D. (2008) degrees from Cornell University, all in  Electrical and Computer Engineering. Prior to joining the University of Rochester, I was a researcher in the Computer Architecture Group at Microsoft Research (2007-2009). My research interests are in the broad area of computer architecture, with an emphasis on high-performance memory systems and energy-efficient computing.

I received the 2014 IEEE Computer Society TCCA Young Computer Architect Award, an NSF CAREER award, an ASPLOS 2010 best paper award, three IEEE MICRO Top Picks awards, an HPCA 2016 distinguished paper award, and was invited to publish a Communications of the ACM Research Highlights article.

Selected Publications (All publications on my CV)

  1. Voltage Regulator Efficiency Aware DVFS Power Management (ASPLOS'17)

  2. Reducing Data Movement Energy via Online Data Clustering and Encoding (MICRO'16)

  3. Memristive Boltzmann Machine: A Hardware Accelerator for Combinatorial Optimization and Deep Learning (HPCA’16)
    Distinguished Paper Award. IEEE Micro Top Picks.

  4. More is Less: Improving the Energy Efficiency of Data Movement via Opportunistic Use of Sparse Codes (MICRO'15)

  5. Back To the Future: Current-Mode Processors in the Era of Deeply Scaled CMOS (TVLSI'15)

  6. Reducing Switching Latency and Energy in STT-MRAM Caches with Field-Assisted Writing (TVLSI'15)

  7. DESC: Energy Efficient Data Exchange using Synchronized Counters (MICRO’13)

  8. AC-DIMM: Associative Computing with STT-MRAM (ISCA’13)

  9. PARDIS: A Programmable Memory Controller for the DDRx Interfacing Standards (ISCA’12)
    IEEE Micro Top Picks.

  10. A Resistive TCAM Accelerator for Data Intensive Computing (MICRO’11)

  11. Resistive Computation: Avoiding the Power-Wall with Low-Leakage, STT-MRAM Based Computing (ISCA’10)

  12. Dynamically Replicated Memory: Building Reliable Systems from Nanoscale Resistive Memories (ASPLOS’10)
    Best Paper Award.

  13. Better I/O Through Byte-Addressable, Persistent Memory (SOSP’09)

  14. Architecting Phase-Change Memory as a Scalable DRAM Alternative (ISCA’09)
    IEEE Micro Top Picks. CACM Research Highlights.

  15. Coordinated Management of Multiple Interacting Resources in CMPs: A Machine Learning Approach (MICRO’08)

  16. Self-Optimizing Memory Controllers: A Reinforcement Learning Approach (ISCA’08)

  17. Core Fusion: Accommodating Software Diversity in Chip Multiprocessors (ISCA’07)

  18. Efficiently Exploring Architectural Design Spaces via Predictive Modeling (ASPLOS’06)


  1. Computer Architecture

  2. Computer Organization

  3. Advanced Topics in Memory Systems

  4. Analytical and Stochastic Modeling of Computer Systems

Professional Activities

  1. Conference Program Committee: MICRO'17, DAC'17, HPCA'17, ICS'16, DAC'16, ISCA'16, HPCA'16, DAC'15, ISCA'15, HPCA'15, CF'14, NPC'14, MICRO'13, ICCD'13, MICRO'12, IISWC'12, ICCD'12, ISPASS’12, IPDPS’11, ICCD’11, ICCD’10, MICRO'09, ICCD'09

  2. Conference Organizing Committee: HPCA’12, ISCA’11, HPCA’11, IISWC’11, IISWC’10, IISWC'08

  3. Workshop Program Committee: HotPower'16, HotPower'13, NDCA’11, SMART’11, SMART'10

  4. Workshop Co-organizer: EAMA’10 (with ISCA), NDCA'09 (with MICRO), EAMA'09 (with HPCA)

Past Ph.D. Students

  1. Xiaochen Guo, Ph.D.'15, ECE
     First Job: Assistant Professor of ECE, Lehigh University

  2. Qing Guo, Ph.D.'15, CS
     First Job: Senior Architect, NVidia

  3. Yanwei Song, Ph.D.'16, ECE
     First Job: Software Developer, Tower Research Capital

  4. Yuxin Bai, Ph.D.'16, ECE
     First Job: Power and Performance Software Engineer, Apple

  5. Mahdi Nazm Bojnordi, Ph.D.'16, ECE
     First Job: Assistant Professor of CS, University of Utah

Current Ph.D. Students

  1. Shibo Wang, CS

  2. Benjamin Feinberg, ECE

  3. Isaac Richter, ECE

  4. Afagh Farhadi, ECE

  5. Ahmad Azizimanesh, ECE

MSR Interns

  1. Janani Mukundan, Cornell University, Summer’09.

  2. Ramazan Bitirgen, Cornell University, Spring’08.

  3. Biplab Deka, IIT Kanpur, Summer’08.