Michael Scott named 2010 IEEE Fellow

Michael L. Scott has been elevated to the status of IEEE Fellow for 2010 for his contributions to parallel and distributed computing.

Recently, Pedro A. Ray, IEEE 2010 President wrote, "Recognizing the achievements of its members is an important part of the mission of the IEEE.  Each year, following a rigorous evaluation procedure, the IEEE Fellow Committee recommends a select group of recipients for one of the Instutites' most prestigious honors, elevation to IEEE Fellow."

The honor will be effective January 1, 2010.

Joint Research Group Receives Technology Showcase Best Demo at CASCON 2009

CASCON 2009 Technology Showcase has awarded the Canisius College/UR group with the Showcase Best Demo award at the plenary session of the conference. The demo, entitled "Want Not, Waste Not, Adaptive Memory Sharing in Multi-core Environment," is funded by an NSF collaborative grant between UR and Canisius College (led by Matthew Hertz). The group includes Tongxin Bai (URCS), Jonathan Bard, Stephen Kane, Elizabeth Keudel,  Matthew Hertz, and Chen Ding (URCS).

UG Programming Team Awarded URBee by President Seligman

President Joel Seligman met with the members of the URCS ACM Undergraduate Programming team to congratulate them for placing first in the ACM Regionals and qualifying to go to Harbin, China, in February 2010.  Seligman asked the students about Saturday's event, their competition strategies, and how the team works together.  He told them that URBee has been known to bring good luck and encouraged them to bring the mascots with them to China.

Michael (Ph.D.'97) Wins IBM Research Accomplishment award

Nov. 1, 2009: URCS alumnus Maged Michael (Ph.D. 1997), a researcher at IBM's T.J. Watson Research Center, has received the company's prestigious "Research Accomplishment" award for his development of lock-free memory management techniques.

Mellor-Crummey (Ph.D. '89) Wins Best Paper

"Binary Analysis for Measurement and Attribution of Program Performance," a paper written by Nathan Tallent, John Mellor-Crummey (PhD '89) and Mike Fagan, won the Distinguished Paper Award at ACM SIGPLAN PLDI 2009.

Read the full paper.

Bigham in "Top 35 Under 35"

Jeffrey Bigham has been named one of the Top 35 Researchers under 35 by MIT's Technology Review Magazine.

Read the full article.

Cortes (Ph.D. '94) Wins ACM Award

Corinna Cortes (Ph.D. '94) and Vladimir Vapnik were honored with the ACM's Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award for the development of Support Vector Machines, a highly effective algorithm for classification and related machine learning problems.
Read the full citation.

Syndicate content