Best Paper Nominations for HCI group

November 14, 2022

Papers by Hajim computer science students addressing timely topics received best paper nominations at major conferences recently, reports Ehsan Hoque, associate professor of computer science.

Congratulations to PhD student Kurtis Haut, lead author on both papers—Assistive Video Filters for People with Parkinson’s Disease to Remove Tremors and Adjust Voice, presented at the 10th International Conference on Affective Computing and Intelligent Interaction (ACII), and Systematic Feature Isolation for Bias Research Using Deepfakes, presented at the 30th ACM International Conference on Multimedia (ACM MM).

More than half of the coauthors on these papers are current or former undergraduates. They are Adira Blumenthal, Sarah Atterbury, and Emanuela Natali on the first paper, and Victor Antony, Aidan Goldfarb, Dillanie Sumanthiran, Melissa Welsh, and Caleb Wohn on the second. 

“I have been very impressed with the quality of undergraduate students and the commitment of our graduate students to mentor them,” Ehsan says. Congratulations as well to coauthors M. Rafayet Ali, Wasifur Rahman, and Xiaofei Zhou, all current or former graduate students.